collab extras quizzes rings images host design contact weblog favorites about me then now

WELCOME TO
SUBURBAN ISLAND!

ABOUT ME
profile
49 things
island dolls
trading card
favorite reads
my kind readers

COMMUNICATE

notes
guestmap
guestbook

IMAGES

fotolog
buzznet
webshots
Flickr

ISLAND TREASURES

bookshelf
Friday Finds
Friday Fives
little island weblog
radio suburban island

LINKS

link me
link wall

MEMBERSHIPS

the spark
mommies
mama clique
pieces of you
the 100 books club
random acts of journaling

QUIZZES

volume I
volume II
volume III
volume IV

RINGS

rings I love
join Friday Finds ring
join paris ring
join fotolog ring
join moblogging ring
join suburbanlife ring
join Suburban Island ring (run by spritopias)

a weblog on suburban living by Suburban Island

FRIDAY FINDS

[ Registered ]


Join the Suburban Island NotifyList and get e-mail when there's a new island update!



Subscribe with Bloglines

Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.

� all content 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005
Suburban Island

Pieces of You - Collections
Saturday, Mar. 15, 2003, 9:30 p.m.

Question: What's not to collect?

What I Learned: A place for everything & everything in it's place.

Pieces of You Topic - What, if anything, do you collect? Why do you collect these things?.... What do these collections say about who you are or why do you identify with them?

I like collections of things. There is something exciting about things that are similar and yet different. If I like something � like fairies, or books, or figures of saints � then, you can be pretty sure that there are going to be little pools of such items stashed around my house. My home may well really be best described as a composite of small collections. Here � on the built-in shelves behind the front door are a couple rows of those porcelain houses with the little light bulbs in them. The closest I may get to the peaceful quality of a quaint village life. On the walls in the dining room and kitchen are hung a number of plates, brought home every year from the beach. Leave it to me to find the china outlet stores when everyone else is next door at the clothing shops. On the living room sideboard is a glass cactus I bought in Phoenix a couple weeks ago. I know it is just an airport gift shop purchase but I like it and I am longing to get a larger one with the glass going a different direction that I saw in the hotel gift shop during my stay. The question is do I really want to start a glass cactus collection?

In my office, stuck between the books, stand the individual members of my saint and angel statue collection. Here - a St. Bridget (an old Irish Saint). There - a St. Anne patiently dealing with her child, Mary, who probably was pretty easy on the maternal nerves. To the right � a diligent St. Joseph working away on the carpentry stuff. And of course, the requisite St. Mary � the star of the group; a vision in blue and white. I may be a sinner but I am always in need of some inspiration to aspire to higher things. You can spot quite a few angels at my house too. They are perched, haloed, and sword-wielding depending upon the angel and as such can fit into the mood of any room. An angel here and there is a good thing.

On a different note, my hula/beach theme collection is in full swing now. This tropical fixation may have to do with a deep desire for a little peace and quiet - an island of calm in the ocean of daily life. Beyond that, do you know that there is a Betty Boop and a Homer Hula? How can I resist?

I have found that in general angels, saints, and hula girls can co-exist in peace. It�s all in the placement.

I once had a friend who collected owls. She liked owls and thought � what could be the harm in that. Pretty soon, anytime someone wanted to get her a gift � be it birthday, holiday, and yes, even anniversary � she could be sure of one thing and that was that it would be an owl. Even an owl lover has a point of saturation. I have heard similar stories from angel collectors and even a sad tale from someone who enjoyed things having to do with flamingos.

My multiple collection strategy avoids this common collection pitfall. It�s worked so far but I am worried that I may be getting close to the overload point with the angels. People love angels. You love angels. Angel overload ahead. It�s making me think the cactus thing might not be a bad idea.

Sometimes collection can be displays of hopes and dreams. Sometimes they can be a whisper of a happy memory sitting quietly on a shelf. Sometimes they can be like a friendly word and other times they can be like a piece of poetry. Mostly they tell you a little bit about who someone is that they may never get around to telling you. What's it tell you about me? I'm not an angel, I'm not a saint, and I'm not a hula dancer but maybe I want to be - at least a little bit. I don't think that's a bad thing but I'd better hit the gym before I go shopping for my grass skirt.

0 comment(s) | previous | next

Add the Isle to your D-Land favs | Visit Little Island - the Suburban Blog
Visit Perfect View - The Scenic Webcam Blog

  • Sunday, Jul. 19, 2009 - Everything and Nothing
  • Friday, Sept. 19, 2008 - No Nap Zone
  • Monday, Sept. 15, 2008 - Procrastination
  • Sunday, Jun. 29, 2008 - Travel Constraints
  • Wednesday, Jun. 25, 2008 - Banking for Dummies
  • Random Isle Entry