collab extras quizzes rings images host design contact weblog favorites about me then now

WELCOME TO
SUBURBAN ISLAND!

ABOUT ME
profile
49 things
island dolls
trading card
favorite reads
my kind readers

COMMUNICATE

notes
guestmap
guestbook

IMAGES

fotolog
buzznet
webshots
Flickr

ISLAND TREASURES

bookshelf
Friday Finds
Friday Fives
little island weblog
radio suburban island

LINKS

link me
link wall

MEMBERSHIPS

the spark
mommies
mama clique
pieces of you
the 100 books club
random acts of journaling

QUIZZES

volume I
volume II
volume III
volume IV

RINGS

rings I love
join Friday Finds ring
join paris ring
join fotolog ring
join moblogging ring
join suburbanlife ring
join Suburban Island ring (run by spritopias)

a weblog on suburban living by Suburban Island

FRIDAY FINDS

[ Registered ]


Join the Suburban Island NotifyList and get e-mail when there's a new island update!



Subscribe with Bloglines

Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.

� all content 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005
Suburban Island

Conference Day
Friday, Mar. 14, 2003, 8:24 p.m.

Question: How much can conference parking cost?

What I Learned: Bring your own eats.

Getting back to the other day, I should have know after the clinic call that things were going to go downhill fast.

After taking care of the sick kid issue, I eventually was able to make my way to the conference. It is amazing how a side street can evade you when you are hurrying. The next thing you know you and your destination are 20 blocks apart and you are making ill-advised U turns on busy downtown streets.

I was glad to find parking at the conference facility. Okay, it was almost twice the going rate but it was the only game in town. I could use my change to buy a soda. I didn�t need all those dollar bills just cluttering up my purse like that; tempting me to buy soft serve ice cream or hot pretzels at exorbitant prices once I got inside. Lucky for me, because of the sick kid and all, I was able to eat something at home thereby cutting my conference expenses so I could afford the parking with exactly one dollar to spare.

At the conference, I saw many people that I knew. I became certain that my day was just going to be one of those terrible-not-very-good days when I went to introduce a favorite client to a number of people and suddenly found her name missing from my mental database. I could feel it flying out of my head like some crazy parakeet that had escaped its cage and was heading straight for the open window. There was no way to catch hold of it. I had to plead the cumulative effects of the very-bad-day syndrome combined with school clinic induced exhaustion.

Being a mother of three, she understood and had to forgive me.

Later, I arrived home to find my children working on school assignments side by side. If only there was a volume control it might have been a sweet domestic picture of sibling harmony. However, the low level quibbling that is so common among siblings was well underway. Like two little crabs pinching at each other � they were slowly driving each other to distraction. And what about mother? You know, mother who is seriously considering confiscating and taking out of immediate circulation all electronic communication devices in the home so she may obtain a modicum of peace and quiet.

Eventually, my dire threats reduced the din to a nice quiet disgruntled rumble and I was able to go about my business � which unfortunately did not seem to include computer time.

What did I get to do then? Open the junk mail, clean the kitchen, watch an EWTN special, check out American Idol, and clean out my purse. And all that work I needed to do on the computer � well what with all the Idol watching and purse cleaning and such by the time I got my turn, I was too tired to do anything but switch the thing off.

0 comment(s) | previous | next

Add the Isle to your D-Land favs | Visit Little Island - the Suburban Blog
Visit Perfect View - The Scenic Webcam Blog

  • Sunday, Jul. 19, 2009 - Everything and Nothing
  • Friday, Sept. 19, 2008 - No Nap Zone
  • Monday, Sept. 15, 2008 - Procrastination
  • Sunday, Jun. 29, 2008 - Travel Constraints
  • Wednesday, Jun. 25, 2008 - Banking for Dummies
  • Random Isle Entry