collab extras quizzes rings images host design contact weblog favorites about me then now

WELCOME TO
SUBURBAN ISLAND!

ABOUT ME
profile
49 things
island dolls
trading card
favorite reads
my kind readers

COMMUNICATE

notes
guestmap
guestbook

IMAGES

fotolog
buzznet
webshots
Flickr

ISLAND TREASURES

bookshelf
Friday Finds
Friday Fives
little island weblog
radio suburban island

LINKS

link me
link wall

MEMBERSHIPS

the spark
mommies
mama clique
pieces of you
the 100 books club
random acts of journaling

QUIZZES

volume I
volume II
volume III
volume IV

RINGS

rings I love
join Friday Finds ring
join paris ring
join fotolog ring
join moblogging ring
join suburbanlife ring
join Suburban Island ring (run by spritopias)

a weblog on suburban living by Suburban Island

FRIDAY FINDS

[ Registered ]


Join the Suburban Island NotifyList and get e-mail when there's a new island update!



Subscribe with Bloglines

Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.

� all content 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005
Suburban Island

Friday Five: Can't Stop Reading
Saturday, Mar. 01, 2003, 12:02 a.m.

Question: I wonder where I can put another bookshelf in this house?

What I Learned: Some people's reading lists never stop growing.

1. What is your favorite type of literature to read (magazine, newspaper, novels, nonfiction, poetry, etc.)? I love poetry but don�t read it as much as I should. I read non-fiction because sometimes you just have to know stuff like how to fix your dying roses, cook a halfway decent meal and so on. Also, my mom has turned me on the value of reading a good biography. Newspapers � why stuff yourself with that much depressing information on a daily basis. Magazines � bite-sized information is perfect for my hectic life-style. Got fiction? That�s my big love. I read novels like I am on a binge � I can never get enough and there is always something else good to read. I have had my nose stuck in a book for most of my life. Most times, if you snatched that book out of my hands you would have discovered � yup, a piece of good/average/poor fiction. I just can�t help it. Books are good. Fiction is best.

2. What is your favorite novel? Like I could name just one � so let�s try it this way. All time favorite - Lewis Carroll�s Alice in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass since they obviously have had quite an impact on me. First and second runners up are � the delightful and imaginative Mary Poppins series by P.L. Travers, and the ever so endearing Winnie the Pooh books by A. A. Milne. I love kids books and was glad I was a mom just so I could indulge myself in the kid lit. Current favorite modern novel: Bridget Jones Diary by Helen Fielding. First and second runners up are - the Shopaholic series by Sophie Kinsella, and anything by Marian Keyes. Favorite classics: This is a first and second place tie between Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen and Little Women by Louisa May Alcott. Third place goes to a modern classic � Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier.

3. Do you have a favorite poem? (Share it!) The Hound of Heaven by Francis Thompson. And how about those Psalms? I have always loved The 23rd Psalm and think it is beautiful to read when you are feeling down and out.

4. What is one thing you've always wanted to read, or wish you had more time to read? The King James Version of the Bible.

5. What are you currently reading? Fishbowl by Sarah Mlynowski and the Satellite Sisters': Uncommon Senses. Anytime you want to know what I'm reading just check out my suburban bookshelf.

0 comment(s) | previous | next

Add the Isle to your D-Land favs | Visit Little Island - the Suburban Blog
Visit Perfect View - The Scenic Webcam Blog

  • Sunday, Jul. 19, 2009 - Everything and Nothing
  • Friday, Sept. 19, 2008 - No Nap Zone
  • Monday, Sept. 15, 2008 - Procrastination
  • Sunday, Jun. 29, 2008 - Travel Constraints
  • Wednesday, Jun. 25, 2008 - Banking for Dummies
  • Random Isle Entry