collab extras quizzes rings images host design contact weblog favorites about me then now

WELCOME TO
SUBURBAN ISLAND!

ABOUT ME
profile
49 things
island dolls
trading card
favorite reads
my kind readers

COMMUNICATE

notes
guestmap
guestbook

IMAGES

fotolog
buzznet
webshots
Flickr

ISLAND TREASURES

bookshelf
Friday Finds
Friday Fives
little island weblog
radio suburban island

LINKS

link me
link wall

MEMBERSHIPS

the spark
mommies
mama clique
pieces of you
the 100 books club
random acts of journaling

QUIZZES

volume I
volume II
volume III
volume IV

RINGS

rings I love
join Friday Finds ring
join paris ring
join fotolog ring
join moblogging ring
join suburbanlife ring
join Suburban Island ring (run by spritopias)

a weblog on suburban living by Suburban Island

FRIDAY FINDS

[ Registered ]


Join the Suburban Island NotifyList and get e-mail when there's a new island update!



Subscribe with Bloglines

Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.

� all content 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005
Suburban Island

What I Learned from Mom
Monday, Feb. 10, 2003, 5:18 p.m.

Question: What's so good about February 9th?

What I Learned: Moms rule.

Yesterday was my mom�s birthday. Today it snowed. It made me think about how she told me it was snowing on the day I, her firstborn, came into the world. I really appreciate her having me during a snowy day, as I am sure she would rather have hung around at home staying warm and drinking a nice cup of cocoa. Thanks, Mom.

Over the years I have learned a lot from my mom.

She taught me how to:

  • Make rainbows with rhinestones and sunlight,
  • Separate the laundry the right way � no darks with the lights, thank you,
  • Make potato pancakes with a grater instead of out of a box (like I do now - sorry, Mom),
  • Make a light show in the living room with just a flashlight and some music.
She taught me the importance of:
  • Knowing the names of things � birds, trees, flowers,
  • Taking time to watch a sunset,
  • Talking to your kids and making sure they know how much they are loved,
  • A good cup of tea.
She taught me to appreciate:
  • Writing poetry,
  • Having a garden (roses a plus),
  • A real home-cooked meal (or at least a meal eaten at home),
  • A house that�s a home.
She taught me to remember to:
  • Feed the birds in the winter,
  • Sleep in once in awhile,
  • Create memories,
  • Keep a journal.
She taught me the value of:
  • Reading biographies,
  • Collecting quotations,
  • Being a warm and giving person,
  • Remaining positive and remembering to laugh once in awhile.

Of course, there are a thousand things more but I like this list because it shows the spectrum of ways that she has made a difference in my life. I hope I can keep the ball rolling with my own kids and that someday they will have their own list for me � even if they never take the time to write it down. And I hope it�s a good one and it makes them smile just like I�m smiling right now as I think about my mom.

Happy Birthday, Mom.

1 comment(s) | previous | next

Add the Isle to your D-Land favs | Visit Little Island - the Suburban Blog
Visit Perfect View - The Scenic Webcam Blog

  • Sunday, Jul. 19, 2009 - Everything and Nothing
  • Friday, Sept. 19, 2008 - No Nap Zone
  • Monday, Sept. 15, 2008 - Procrastination
  • Sunday, Jun. 29, 2008 - Travel Constraints
  • Wednesday, Jun. 25, 2008 - Banking for Dummies
  • Random Isle Entry