collab extras quizzes rings images host design contact weblog favorites about me then now

WELCOME TO
SUBURBAN ISLAND!

ABOUT ME
profile
49 things
island dolls
trading card
favorite reads
my kind readers

COMMUNICATE

notes
guestmap
guestbook

IMAGES

fotolog
buzznet
webshots
Flickr

ISLAND TREASURES

bookshelf
Friday Finds
Friday Fives
little island weblog
radio suburban island

LINKS

link me
link wall

MEMBERSHIPS

the spark
mommies
mama clique
pieces of you
the 100 books club
random acts of journaling

QUIZZES

volume I
volume II
volume III
volume IV

RINGS

rings I love
join Friday Finds ring
join paris ring
join fotolog ring
join moblogging ring
join suburbanlife ring
join Suburban Island ring (run by spritopias)

a weblog on suburban living by Suburban Island

FRIDAY FINDS

[ Registered ]


Join the Suburban Island NotifyList and get e-mail when there's a new island update!



Subscribe with Bloglines

Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.

� all content 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005
Suburban Island

Suitcase
Monday, Jan. 20, 2003, 4:26 p.m.

Question: Why do I open my carefully packed suitcase to immediately realize most of what I packed I could do without?

What I Learned: The Starbucks is always on the other side of the airport.

I just got back from a few days of travel. I thought I packed light but it seems that it is never light enough. Somehow I am dragging a suitcase that is much heavier than I recall it being at the time of packing. As I pull it along behind me feeling it sway back and forth like a happy drunk, its wheels clacking noisily across the tiled floors in a most obnoxious manner � I begin to wonder how I�ve gotten myself into this situation again. How is it I set out in such earnestness to pack lightly and wind up every time tugging a heavy albatross of a bag behind me down escalators and up stairways and along never-ending corridors?

I wonder if perhaps I have dropped something into the bag that I might have forgotten about. This is what I figure it could be:

  • All the change in the house so that if I get bored on the plane, I can roll them up and have some extra spending loot.
  • Rocks from the garden to give as gifts.
  • A 24 pack of Diet Coke � just in case.
  • A bound set of the complete works of Shakespeare because I may have some time to read.
  • My entire collection of photo albums since everyone likes to look at pictures.

In this particular case, I am wearing a winter coat that is so heavy that I can feel my forehead start to sweat as I walk along. At security, I see how packing wisely is a necessity to retaining personal sanity and a modicum of dignity. Unfortunately, I have not considered the exponential quality personal possessions take on at the security stop. Change or anything metal � in a bowl. Coat � fold it up and put it on the belt. Shoes � take �em off and put them in a bin or you�ll definitely be sitting on the other side of security getting the once over. Computer � take it out of the case and put it in the bin. Put the case on the belt separately. Oh yeah, and how about that bag that is really starting to feel extra heavy as you heave it up on the belt - don�t forget that. And that purse � put it in a separate bin - yes, another bin please - but you had better hold on to that ticket and ID. Now that it is bit of a trick as my arms are overflowing with bins and such but I have teeth don't I?

I feel a bit like an flamenco dancer/bellboy at this point but the long line in back of me tolerates no hesitation. I line up the bins that were nested under my arms on the belt and the bag and the coat and holding only an ID and ticket and feeling light as as a feather, I proceed through the security sceening. I am hardly done though.

Putting yourself back together again with the same components you had in the beginning � coat, bags, change, jewelry, bags, electronic equipment - is the other half of the trick. Hey, I could reinvent myself by accident just gathering myself up again.

Better safe than sorry as they say and the makeover � that�s free of charge.

0 comment(s) | previous | next

Add the Isle to your D-Land favs | Visit Little Island - the Suburban Blog
Visit Perfect View - The Scenic Webcam Blog

  • Sunday, Jul. 19, 2009 - Everything and Nothing
  • Friday, Sept. 19, 2008 - No Nap Zone
  • Monday, Sept. 15, 2008 - Procrastination
  • Sunday, Jun. 29, 2008 - Travel Constraints
  • Wednesday, Jun. 25, 2008 - Banking for Dummies
  • Random Isle Entry