collab extras quizzes rings images host design contact weblog favorites about me then now

WELCOME TO
SUBURBAN ISLAND!

ABOUT ME
profile
49 things
island dolls
trading card
favorite reads
my kind readers

COMMUNICATE

notes
guestmap
guestbook

IMAGES

fotolog
buzznet
webshots
Flickr

ISLAND TREASURES

bookshelf
Friday Finds
Friday Fives
little island weblog
radio suburban island

LINKS

link me
link wall

MEMBERSHIPS

the spark
mommies
mama clique
pieces of you
the 100 books club
random acts of journaling

QUIZZES

volume I
volume II
volume III
volume IV

RINGS

rings I love
join Friday Finds ring
join paris ring
join fotolog ring
join moblogging ring
join suburbanlife ring
join Suburban Island ring (run by spritopias)

a weblog on suburban living by Suburban Island

FRIDAY FINDS

[ Registered ]


Join the Suburban Island NotifyList and get e-mail when there's a new island update!



Subscribe with Bloglines

Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.

� all content 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005
Suburban Island

funeral
Monday, Dec. 09, 2002, 4:43 p.m.




I won't be able to write in my journal for a couple of days due to a death in the family. My mother-in-law died this weekend after a long struggle with Alzheimer�s. She was a really amazing woman and I had a lot of admiration for her. She chose to think well of everyone and taught me plenty about being a kind person and putting good intentions into action. I have no idea where she got all her energy. Although she has not been with us for many years in the way she had prior to her illness, it is still sad to lose her in this final sense.

A few weeks ago we had all traveled up to visit her. She was bed-ridden and mostly sleeping. The disease was taking its toll. That particular day she did wake up after we arrived. Every once in awhile she would just come out with something in this little old lady voice she had developed. Hearing her talk was a nice surprise because sometimes she might not say a word. Right before we were heading out from this visit � which for me and the kids would be our last - she said something that sounding like, "I'm going to heaven." She said it with great conviction. And when I thought about it later, I was certain that this was exactly what she did say. It was straight to the point and it made perfect sense. It was just like her.

I am quite sure she was right in her statement. She was a person who had lived her life with real integrity and she will be missed.

0 comment(s) | previous | next

Add the Isle to your D-Land favs | Visit Little Island - the Suburban Blog
Visit Perfect View - The Scenic Webcam Blog

  • Sunday, Jul. 19, 2009 - Everything and Nothing
  • Friday, Sept. 19, 2008 - No Nap Zone
  • Monday, Sept. 15, 2008 - Procrastination
  • Sunday, Jun. 29, 2008 - Travel Constraints
  • Wednesday, Jun. 25, 2008 - Banking for Dummies
  • Random Isle Entry