collab extras quizzes rings images host design contact weblog favorites about me then now

WELCOME TO
SUBURBAN ISLAND!

ABOUT ME
profile
49 things
island dolls
trading card
favorite reads
my kind readers

COMMUNICATE

notes
guestmap
guestbook

IMAGES

fotolog
buzznet
webshots
Flickr

ISLAND TREASURES

bookshelf
Friday Finds
Friday Fives
little island weblog
radio suburban island

LINKS

link me
link wall

MEMBERSHIPS

the spark
mommies
mama clique
pieces of you
the 100 books club
random acts of journaling

QUIZZES

volume I
volume II
volume III
volume IV

RINGS

rings I love
join Friday Finds ring
join paris ring
join fotolog ring
join moblogging ring
join suburbanlife ring
join Suburban Island ring (run by spritopias)

a weblog on suburban living by Suburban Island

FRIDAY FINDS

[ Registered ]


Join the Suburban Island NotifyList and get e-mail when there's a new island update!



Subscribe with Bloglines

Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.

� all content 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005
Suburban Island

Blue Sofa
Friday, Dec. 06, 2002, 3:09 p.m.

Just Wondering: Why is a blue inflatable sofa sitting on my front lawn?

What I Have Learned: Be careful what you buy. You may never get rid of it.

Blue plastic sofas. Who me? Only if they are inflatable and can be used to ride down hills covered in snow.

I couldn't get the inner tube sled. I told you about that. Snow. Ice. Bad driving conditions. "No way, kid," I said yesterday. "I don't do snow-driving and you can't make me."

Next thing I know there it is - big, blue, covered with kids, and moving fast.
The big blue sofa.

The big blue sofa came to live at our house last year for the holidays and seemed in some of our family's minds to be the centerpiece of gracious living. It was quietly deflated sometime during the deep dark of winter. We thought we had seen the last of it. Until now.

The big blue sofa is gone right now. I think it is enjoying life in the common area of the neighborhood taking some hills and providing some spills. I'm not worried. I know the big blue sofa is coming back.

Somehow this story reminds me of The Velveteen Rabbit and The Brave Little Toaster mixed up together to provide a very strange real-life result. Truth, as we all know, is indeed often stranger than fiction.

0 comment(s) | previous | next

Add the Isle to your D-Land favs | Visit Little Island - the Suburban Blog
Visit Perfect View - The Scenic Webcam Blog

  • Sunday, Jul. 19, 2009 - Everything and Nothing
  • Friday, Sept. 19, 2008 - No Nap Zone
  • Monday, Sept. 15, 2008 - Procrastination
  • Sunday, Jun. 29, 2008 - Travel Constraints
  • Wednesday, Jun. 25, 2008 - Banking for Dummies
  • Random Isle Entry